Wayamba triumphs in Provincial ODI tournament

January 31, 2013

Roshan Steelman in the Island 31 January 2013

mubarak plus -jude denzil Pathiraja wayamba team Pics by JD Pathiraja

Wayamba batsmen did the trick for their team as they won this year’s Inter-Provincial Limited-over title beating Kandurata/Uva Combined Team by massive 133 runs in the tournament final played at Maitland Crescent, Colombo yesterday. Opener Niroshan Dickwella and Farveez Maharoof scored centuries and on their way shared a 157-run stand. Wayamba who were put into bat by Thilina Kandamby’s side in a good batting wicket scored a mammoth total of 348 for a loss of four wickets in their 50 overs.

Chasing the target, Kandurata/Uva Combined were bundled out for 215 in their 39th over. Dickwella and Maharoof, who were scoring heavily in this tournament, came up with an impressive performance when it mattered. Dickwella scored 104 runs off 91 balls with 13 fours while Maharoof, facing 121 balls, scored 112 runs. Maharoof’s innings included eight fours and two sixes. After the solid stand between Dickwella and Maharoof, skipper Jehan Mubarak joined the party giving finishing touches to the innings scoring 77 runs off just 44 balls. Mubarak stroked seven fours and four sixes in the NCC wicket.

Kandurata/Uva Combined Team were never in hunt with the run-chase as they lost wickets at regular intervals. The captain who scored a century in the semi-final continued his good form scoring another half century while wicket-keeper bat Kaushal Silva scored 60. But, apart from those, none of the batsmen managed to come up with a useful contribution.

Wayamba fast bowler Nuwan Pradeep came up with a magnificent performance with the ball picking up five wickets for 46 runs. Pradeep later was named the Man of the Match.

Brief Scores:

Wayamba 348 for 4 wkts in 50 overs (Niroshan Dickwella 104, Farveez Maharoof 112, Jehan Mubarak 77; Amil Prasad 2/80,

Kandurata/Uva Combined 215 all out in 38.4 overs (Kaushal Silva 60, Thilina Kandamby 79, Bhanuka Rajapaksa 24; Nuwan Pradeep 5/46, Kosala Kulasekara 2/20)

Special Awards:

Best Batsmen: Ian Daniel (Uthura/Neganahira Combined)

Best Bowler: Dulanjana Mendis (Kandurata/Uva Combined)

Man of the final: Nuwan Pradeep (Wayamba)

Player of the Tournament: Shehan Jayasuriya (Ruhuna)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: