Archive for the ‘New Zealand cricket’ Category

h1

Sixes Galore from Thisara Perera in Losing Cause

January 5, 2019

Thisara Perera hit thirteen sixers … indeed more SIXERs than Fours (13 is to 8 fours) in an amazing innings of 140 runs in 74 balls in a losing cause in the ODI match vs the Kiwis at Mount Maunganui today 5th January 2019 …. . Note this running commentary by the ESPN ‘reporters’

Southee to NLTC Perera, no run, well bowled. Thisara shuffles and Southee sends a bouncer across the channel, straight at his helmet. Ducks under it

Big conference now. They need to stop that single.

45.5
6
Southee to NLTC Perera, SIX runs, now way! Southee has lost his length completely. Another full toss. Just outside off. A half-step into into the off side and a launch over square leg this time. Unreal stuff.

It’s been 160 runs since Sri Lanka lost their seventh wicket!

45.4
6
Southee to NLTC Perera, SIX runs, another full toss! Another six! How the tables have turned! New Zealand have no clue where to bowl to him. Outside off, in his zone and he slots it over long-on again!
45.3
0
Southee to NLTC Perera, no run, beaten. Slower ball at a length outside off, walks across and swings at it but that skids under
45.2
6
Southee to NLTC Perera, SIX runs, mistimed but another six! Shuffles early this time, gets a high full toss this time. It’s wide and he slices from underneath. The wind carries it. Long-on and long-off converge…and watch it clear the boundary
45.1
6
Southee to NLTC Perera, SIX runs, suh-weeet! That sound! Wow. A low full toss outside off and it cannot be middled better than that. Doesn’t even need to swing – just a check-punch. It’s far, far over the wide long-on boundary. 96 metres! It’s rolled off somewhere too after landing in the grassbanks. We’re getting a replacement ball

Read the rest of this entry ?

Advertisements
h1

Trent Boult tips the Bowler Scales

December 27, 2018

In taking six wickets in 11 balls Trent Boult has swung his way to be ahead of Monty Noble (in 1902), Jacques Kallis and Kemar Roach in the available statistics on Test cricket for the least number of runs for the most number of wickets.

Read the rest of this entry ?

h1

Boultage in Christchurch! Carnage! …. Cricketing Carnage!

December 27, 2018

No… It was not an Earthquake but devilish swing bowling from Trent Boult …….effecting six wickets for 4 runs at one end while Angelo Mathews was left stranded at the other end!

Read the rest of this entry ?

h1

Mendis and Mathews defy Kiwi Attack in Epic Stand

December 20, 2018

Marty Melville of AFP in Island,19 December 2018, with this title “Epic stand saves Sri Lanka in New Zealand Test”

Sri Lanka battled to a rain-affected draw in the first Test against New Zealand on Wednesday after the Black Caps were unable to break an epic stand by Kusal Mendis and Angelo Mathews.  The tourists were 287 for three in their second innings — still nine runs away from an innings defeat — when the umpires called time with only 13 overs bowled on the final day. Mendis was unbeaten on 141 and Mathews 120 not out at stumps after a stubborn 274-run stand that, along with the weather, allowed Sri Lanka to salvage a draw.

  Kusal Mendis (L) and teammate Angelo Mathews walk from the field as rain starts to fall during day five of the first Test cricket match between New Zealand and Sri Lanka at the Basin Reserve in Wellington on December 19, 2018.

Read the rest of this entry ?

h1

New Zealand snatch Victory from the Jaws of Defeat

November 23, 2018

Michael Roberts

I was fortunate enough to turn on the live TV channel during the fourth innings when it commenced and then again–after an interruption –when three Pakistani wickets were down. I have enough cricket to know that implosions are possible, but would not have dared to place a bet on such a process. Not uncommonly in cricket, such transformations occur when a great catch is taken or a rn-out from batsmen error or super fiielding efforts take place.

Sure enough this moment came when Asad Shaafiq and Babar Azam messed up theri communication and Asad ended up at Babar the batsman’s end. It was terrible running –prtly a poor initial gesture from Babar but far too precipitate a reaction from Azad. Since the ball was turned to short fine-leg it ws Asaad’s call so perhaps the blame lies mostly with him.

 Neil Wagner roars after taking a wicket AFP Read the rest of this entry ?

h1

Schedule for Sri Lankan Tour of New Zealand

December 3, 2015

UNI OVAL DUNEDIAN University Oval, Dunedin–Pic from www.bmscinefun.com

  • Thu Dec 3 – Sat Dec 5 10:30 local (21:30 GMT -1d | 08:30 AEDT | 08:00 ACDT | 05:30 AWST)
  • Thu Dec 10 – Mon Dec 14 10:30 local (21:30 GMT -1d | 08:30 AEDT | 08:00 ACDT | 05:30 AWST)
    1st Test – New Zealand v Sri Lanka University Oval, Dunedin LIVE
  • Fri Dec 18 – Tue Dec 22 10:30 local (21:30 GMT -1d | 08:30 AEDT | 08:00 ACDT | 05:30 AWST)
    2nd Test – New Zealand v Sri Lanka Seddon Park, Hamilton LIVE
  • Sat Dec 26 (50 ovs) 11:00 local (22:00 GMT -1d | 09:00 AEDT | 08:30 ACDT | 06:00 AWST)
    1st ODI – New Zealand v Sri Lanka Hagley Oval, Christchurch LIVE
  • Mon Dec 28 (50 ovs) 11:00 local (22:00 GMT -1d | 09:00 AEDT | 08:30 ACDT | 06:00 AWST)
    2nd ODI – New Zealand v Sri Lanka Hagley Oval, Christchurch LIVE
  • Thu Dec 31 (50 ovs) 11:00 local (22:00 GMT -1d | 09:00 AEDT | 08:30 ACDT | 06:00 AWST)
    3rd ODI – New Zealand v Sri Lanka Saxton Oval, Nelson LIVE
  • Sat Jan 2 (50 ovs) 11:00 local (22:00 GMT -1d | 09:00 AEDT | 08:30 ACDT | 06:00 AWST)
    4th ODI – New Zealand v Sri Lanka Saxton Oval, Nelson LIVE
  • Tue Jan 5 (50 ovs) 11:00 local (22:00 GMT -1d | 09:00 AEDT | 08:30 ACDT | 06:00 AWST)
    5th ODI New Zealand v Sri Lanka Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui LIVE
  • Thu Jan 7 (20 ovs) 15:00 local (02:00 GMT | 13:00 AEDT | 12:30 ACDT | 10:00 AWST)
    1st T20I New Zealand v Sri Lanka Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui LIVE

   NEW ZEALAND SQUADS are

Test squad Brendon McCullum (capt), Trent Boult, Doug Bracewell, Mark Craig, Martin Guptill, Tom Latham, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling, Kane Williamson

President’s XI: Ryan McCone (capt), James Baker, Joe Carter, Joel Harden, Shawn Hicks, Tim Johnston, Ken McClure, Matt McEwan, Glenn Phillips, Bharat Popli, Ben Smith, Blair Tickner, Neil Wagner